Results‎ > ‎

Mike Maiers takes honours in Dragons Individual Time Trial in fitting swansong

posted 5 Nov 2016, 06:49 by HK Dragons Triathlon Club

After a brutal summer and high humidity, a typhoon and some heavy pollution, we were greeted this week with perfect sunshine, cool weather and clean air - a perfect backdrop for the last Dragons Individual Time Trial of the year.

Fast times were expected and they came! Thanks to a huge turnout with 22 cyclists on the road and some hard racing, we ended up with broken records and a lot of fun had by all.

Departing Dragons committee member Mike Maiers took the honours - perhaps a fitting sign off from someone who has been among Hong Kong’s strongest cyclists and a previous winner of the Tour de Bintan Cat 2 race in 2010.

But it was never going to be easy. Facing him down and not going to be letting him off the hook easily, was Olaf Kasten - fresh off winning outright his age group at the inaugural Hefei half Ironman and with that race qualifying again for Kona.

Also in the mood for not messing around was Paul Wright, who was in racing fit form after his preparations for KOM Taiwan and still with the epic 220km Dubai-Fujeirah Coast sportive yet to come.

And as we have come to learn, we must also never write off the over-50 crowd! Nick Adamus and Henrik ‘the Hammer’ Pedersen always put in a massive fight and often put to shame the younger members of the cycling and triathlon Hong Kong fraternity.

Road conditions were good, and while the traffic was not particularly light, it was a perfect day for a race.

These races are always a combination of exhilaration, pain and those moments when you stare into yourself and say 'I have got this!' Everyone will have their tale to tell, but the final standings are as follows with a deserved victory for Maiers: (Strava times take precedence, where available

Many thanks also to our marshalls: Yann Kai, Kris, Pat & Sheel

Mike Maiers 1.10.26

Olaf Kasten 1.10.51

Paul Wright 1.12.20

Nick Adamus 1.12.38

Henrik Pedersen 1.12.50

Thomas Batt 1.14 (no Strava time on the official segment)

Andrew Sharkey 1.15.34

Olivier Courret 1.15.34

James King 1.17.36

Tom Wright 1.22.39

Chris Gunns 1.25.12

Dave Gibb 1.25.44

Gilles Normand 1.26.54

Adrian Lydiard 1.26.58

Ben McCarthy 1.28.29

Mary Ho 1.29.16

Joel Lieginger 1.30.08

Edwin Wong 1.31.14

Alex Nacrour 1.34.14

Adrian Ryan 1.37 (no Strava time on the official segment)

Fenny Liu 1.42.43

Laurent Rosfelder 1.49.45