Results‎ > ‎

Dragons ITT sees massive field and the return of Guethoff; Wright and Oh claim Yellow!

posted 4 Nov 2017, 00:51 by HK Dragons Triathlon Club   [ updated 4 Nov 2017, 01:48 ]

In the final instalment of this year’s Dragons ITT competition, we saw a huge turnout in perfect cool, dry,  overcast conditions, with some north easterly wind on the course.

A total of 30 riders were at the start in what is one of the most challenging flat TTs in Hong Kong, as its 3-lap course includes a punchy lump in the middle  of the race, that is designed to disrupt momentum, force greater power and eat into your speed.

Among the starters list were some of HK’s most experienced long course and short course triathletes, as well as some very accomplished pure cyclists.

With the likes of Olaf Kasten, just back from a 10 hour Kona; Peter Hope, just returned from claiming podiums in Tour de Chiangmai; and Paul ‘Redders’ Redmayne Mourad, just back from a sub 5-hour  Taiwan KOM Challenge - it was clear anything could happen. Some of the older campaigners were also clearly up for the challenge, with Paul ‘Wrighty’ Wright eyeing the overall yellow Dragons TT jersey, Paul ‘Boomer’ McMahon, who has been in some great form all season, and Henrik ‘The Hammer’ Pedersen who was aiming to keep proving - along with Boomer - that being over 50 is the new 30!!

Pre-race banter also featured some curiosity about some of the newer athletes on the scene, especially around Paul ‘The Judge’ Sandburg, already known for his explosive power and ability to keep hitting and hitting and hitting and hitting. Ryan Kemp, our mild mannered South African who is known for slaying all comers on Zwift. Ed Chadwick of Team Unfound was also making his Dragons TT debut, and known for his ability to put in sustained power over a long distance, and you could never write off Duncan ‘I’ve got Watts’ Watt, who was riding a recently acquired, very mean looking  TT bike, which he freely admitted was faster than he was!

In the end though, it was the always quiet Marcel Guethoff, who slipped into the starting grid almost unnoticed, who upset the form books. In hindsight, that should never have been the case. Marcel won the 2016 Dragons Race to Enlightenment in another stunning race last year, and although he could not retain his title this year, is well known for his work rate and dedication. 

Even in today’s race, he was still behind Peter Hope on the 2nd lap. Indeed, it looked like Peter was going to take a well-deserved victory, but Marcel in the crucial third lap, clawed his way back and overtook Peter who did not seem to be laying off at all!

An amazing victory and an awesome time of 1.09.26 and he is now one of only two people who have ever gone under 1.10 on this course (the other being record holder Fred Clatworthy).

So huge congratulations to Marcel Guethoff for a fantastic race. Also special mention must go to Paul Wright, another highly dedicated (and increasingly decorated) athlete, who having also competed in the first ITT of the year held in March, took the overall victory as the fastest Dragon over two legs, and of course to the ever dominant Yann Kai Oh, who takes the women’s yellow jersey for being the fastest overall lady!

Full results below: ( Strava takes precedence unless otherwise stated)

Marcel Guethoff 1.09.26

Peter Hope 1.11.52

Ryan Kemp 1.12.09

Olaf Kasten 1.12.24

Paul ‘Wrighty’ Wright 1.12.43

Henrik ‘the Hammer’ Pedersen 1.13.06

Duncan ‘I’ve got watts’ Watt 1.14.11

Ed Chadwick 1.15.25

Craig Wilkeson 1.15.33

Paul ‘Redders’ Redmayne 1.17.08 (non Strava time - can someone teach him please??)

Paul ‘The Judge’ Sandburg 1.18.21

Victor ‘The Cordabator’ Cordoba 1.19.37

Dan Betteridge 1.21.08

Vivek Varadarajan 1.21.55 (non-Strava time)

Paul ‘Boomer’ McMahon 1.22.09 (non-Strava time)

Yann Kai ‘Roinkers’ Oh 1.23.21 FIRST WOMAN HOME

Greg Toole 1.23.49

Martin Wrae 1.24.06

Francis Costela 1.24.37

Philippe Cosentino 1.24.xx (non-Strava time as he managed to take a wrong turning…..?!)

Fabrice ‘Fab Triathlete’ Peyrin 1.26.24

Liam Bolger 1.27.11

Anthony Lam 1.27.14

Nick Kearns 1.28.33

Adrian ‘AJ’ Halkes 1.28.35

Jan Walter 1.29.33

Ian Mcclelland 1.30.05

Mark Stanley 1.33.11

James Billingham 1.35.07 (non Strava time)

Todd Bryan 1.45 (non Strava time)

Laura ‘Miss Gordon’ Gordon 1.47.54