All the hills you love (to hate) and a special twist added for this year.  Instead of our usual winner-take-all format, this year we are going to shake up the competition by introducing three different climb "categories" to celebrate the varied aspects of road cycling that we all know and love.  Each category will have a unique prize for the winner reflecting the character and history of the category.  

2015 KOM/QOM Champs Justin Baldacchino and YannKai Oh will definitely be putting in a spirited defense of their polka-dot jerseys so let the battle begin!

The Rules:

1) You have to complete segments by midnight (HK time) on Wednesday 30th November 2017.  Segment links are below. Look at these carefully to see the start and finish points.  In order to be in contention for a category prize you must complete all segments in that category; overall KOM/QOM contenders must complete every segment.

2) Only the fastest times as recorded on Strava on the predefined segments below between 1 January 2016 and 30 November 2016 will count.  

3)  You are not permitted any motorized assistance at all to ride the segments.

4) You are allowed to draft and ride in packs  to achieve the fastest times

5) Strava times are final. We know Strava is not perfect and GPS signals sometimes go AWOL, but Strava is usually accurate 99% of the time. If you are unhappy with the way Strava has recorded your time, do the ride again!

6) You must upload your ride within 2 weeks of doing the segment. Holding back your times to lull your competitors into a false sense of security is not permitted (yes to has happened before!). Our race commissaires will be watching upload times very closely!

7) Anyone on Strava can enter the competition. It is open to all and not just Dragons members, but you must also join the Dragons page on Strava here: https://www.strava.com/clubs/dragons-triathlon-club for your time to count and only members of the Dragons will win the much coveted Polka Dot KOTM jersey and have their name inscribed on the Dragons KOTM shield. To become a Dragons member click here:https://endurancecui.active.com/new/events/41025151/priceCategories/41027851/primaryForm?_p=0528749295155444 - it is cheap to join the Dragons and well worth the investment!

8) Only complete rides uploaded directly from recording devices (such as Garmin or iphone etc) should be used - uploaded GPX files, cropped rides, or rides that do not have a logical start and end point will be heavily scrutinized by the Dragons Strava Police (you have been warned!).

9) Our official timekeeper and Chief of Dragons Strava Police is Pat Gorta, who will maintain the official leaderboard times and oversee adherence to the rules and spirit of the competition.   

The Categories

The Grand Tours - three Grand Tours in professional cycling, three of HK's most iconic climbs

The Monuments - five sharp/steep inclines to match the five Monuments of cycling

The Rouleurs - a bit longer and a bit more rolling, these climbs suit the all-rounders of the peloton and might shake-up this year's competition!

The Climbs:

The Grand Tours

The Peak            http://www.strava.com/segments/631238

The Monuments

Cobbles                 http://www.strava.com/segments/8857796 
Satellite Hill         http://www.strava.com/segments/869083
Parkview                 http://www.strava.com/segments/2246838
Mt. Austin         http://www.strava.com/segments/747532

The Rouleurs

Mt. Butler                 http://www.strava.com/segments/633199
Tai Tam Road         http://www.strava.com/segments/636848
Stanley Fort         http://www.strava.com/segments/816924

The Prizes
The Overall Winner of the KOM & QOM competition wins the coveted aero jersey, and their name forever inscribed on the KOM & QOM plaque. This is the fastest male and female rider overall.
The Challenge Winner is the fastest male or female who completes all the segments, with 17 mins or more on the Peak climb for male competitors and 18 mins or more for female competitors
The winner of the The Grand Tours, The Monuments and The Rouleurs categories (one prize each) is awarded to the fastest male or female who completes all the segments in the respective category but is NOT the overall KOM or QOM winner. 

The Results (so far..)